hello

If you are new to the forum, please post a few lines about yourself here.

hello

Postby ruthie » Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:57 pm

hello everyone,

I'm ruthie, i eventually had a play on a luteback at Towersey last year and loved how it tickled my tummy. isn't it amazing an instrument can do that!
i was young and penniless so there was only one thing i could do. i spent all my rent money on a hurdy gurdy and moved back in with my mum. i got a train over to Preston to meet Neil Brook and came back with a hurdy gurdy on my knee.

I've had it for a few months now and it is very very lovely. i've started using it in my storytelling which is what i do for a living. its going ok, i play cello, viola etc so alot of it seems transferable but the drone is completely new to me. hence why i am here, i think i could really do with a teacher. I'm based imbetween manchester and leeds so if anyone knows anyone that's near me and could teach then i would be very happy to hear from you.

Thanks,
Ruthie :)
ruthie

Re: hello

Postby snozz » Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:18 am

Hi Ruthie

There are usually 3 or 4 gurdy players at the Panards sessions in Leeds which is the first Thursday of the Month. (http://www.frenchdanceleeds.co.uk/regular.html)

Again, there are 2 or 3 at the dance sessions on the 3rd Thursday of the month.

I'm just learning myself but they are both excellent opportunities to get out there and play with people (and get advise!).

Would be good to see you if you can make it.

There are several gurdy players I know of in the area between Leeds and Manchester - not sure if any teach though.

Snozz
snozz

Postby ruthbramley » Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:42 pm

ruthie wrote:hello everyone,

I'm ruthie, i eventually had a play on a luteback at Towersey last year and loved how it tickled my tummy. isn't it amazing an instrument can do that!

Welcome, Ruthie, from another Ruthie :-) This could get confusing...
Forthcoming gigs:
14 Oct - Steve Tilston, Ely Folk Club